UDOM: Admission and Entry Requirements 2021/22

Udom no Welcome to the Directorate of Undergraduate Studies (DUS). UDOM is a comprehensive university offering study programmes in a broad range of fields. The vision of the university is “To become a center of excellence that offers value added training, research, and public services.” To realize this vision, UDOM considers undergraduate students to be the university’s primary customers whose contribution is crucial.
To enable undergraduate students to contribute to the achievement of the University Vision, the Directorate is responsible for the management of undergraduate programmes across the university. Key areas of focus include overall coordination and policy matters pertaining to admission, curriculum, examinations, and student’s records and loans. Working closely with colleges, the Directorates of ICT (DICT), Quality Assurance (DQA), and Library Services (DLS), the DUS ensures that all undergraduate academic matters in UDOM proceed smoothly. DUS is one of the directorates under the Office of the Deputy Vice Chancellor – Academic, Research, and Consultancy (DVC – ARC); serving the seven on-campus, semi-autonomous colleges.

Admission & Entry Requirements
The prospective students are requested to consult the Undergraduate Admission Guidebook prepared annually by TCU at www.tcu.or.tz for more details.

i). Direct Entry
For form six applicants the minimum entry qualification is two principal passes in relevant A-Level subjects totaling 4.0 points(except programmes at the College of HealthSciences 4.5 and 5)and three credits at ‘O’Level.
ii). Recognition of Prior Learning
For the applicants with RPL qualification the minimum qualification is ‘B’ grade.
iii). Equivalent qualifications
For Diploma applicants the minimum entry qualification is at least Four O level passes(D’s and above)or NVA level III with less than four O level passes or equivalent foreign qualifications as established by either NECTA or VETA.
(i) Ordinary Diploma (NTA Level 6) with at least GPA of 3.0; or
(ii) Full Technician Certificate (FTC) with at least points average of 3.0 (where A=5, B=4, C=3, and D=2points); or
(iii) Diploma in Teacher Education with an average of ‘B’ grade; or
(iv) Health related awards such as clinical medicine and others with an average of ‘B’ grade; or
(v) Credit class diploma for classified diplomas and certificates in terms of‘distinctions, credit or pass’ or
(vi) Lower Second Class diploma for classified non-NTA diplomas;
Note: Two grading systems are currently operational:
a. Applicants who completed Form Four andForm six in 1988-2013 use the old system where A to E are considered as principal passes with S being a subsidiary pass. The grades are weighed as follows A = 5, B = 4, C= 3, D = 2, E = 1 and S= 0.5.
b. For applicants who completed their studies in 2014 and beyond, the principal passes are ‘A’ to ‘D’. The grades are weighed as follows A= 5, B+ = 4, B = 3, C = 2, D = 1 and E = 0.5.


Also read: UDSM admission: How to apply for Undergraduate programmes

Related Posts

Msomeni Blogu

Najihusisha na masuala ya kimtandao, mbinu mbalimbali za kuanzisha na kuendeleza biashara ya mtandaoni. Email yangu ni msomeniblogu@gmail.com au WhatsApp namba ni 0718453258

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2021 MSOMENI BLOG - Theme by WPEnjoy · Powered by WordPress